I am what I am

I felt conscious of my gender only post puberty. I will attribute it to be born in a progressive India where families with means did not think before educating their girl child and family planning was not a bad word. To say the least I have been the beneficiary of the “No tuition fee for girls/women” till the time I completed my graduation in  my home state. I have been working in a company where the policies are in place to ensure equal treatment for all sex and proper redressal systems are in place. But I have to be appreciative of the work that has gone into what is the present scenario for women  in independent India.

Unlike many countries we in India did not have to fight for women franchise or property rights( though this has not been right from the start with amendments being made in 1956 and also 2005). I can choose my representatives, be the owner of a property and choose to earn a living. But am I speaking for only urban India. Well there is a wage disparity between rural and urban women which has been attributed to the nature of the work, however at least from the system point of view there is an option being provided to these rural women. As per studies carried out, even in rural India there has been considerable change in the respect earned by women after the 73rd and 74th amendment. But education seems to be the least of their worries, what rural women are lacking most is access to a toilet, having a pucca residence and access to healthcare.

But irrespective of gender to get what is yours you need to claim it. Lobbying for your rights and asking for comparable amenities and facilities is required. Gender sensitive work places are required, women don’t need to be treated as special but as equals.

2 responses to “I am what I am

  1. [ But irrespective of gender to get what is yours you need to claim it. Lobbying for your rights and asking for comparable amenities and facilities is required. ]

    How can you expect people who struggle for bare necessities and daily survival to lobby for their rights , what is needed is proper education at all the levels so that people are sensitive enough to the issues of other people , there is no use talking to a wall

  2. You would be surprised if given an opportunity disadvantaged can claim their rights, most of the times they just need the support of someone who is more aware. Read the mill workers story and if you just want to think about women, SHGs are actually working quite well in India, at least when it comes to empowering the women in rural India. My take on this was if you don’t ask for what you want, you will never get it. For that you need to know what can be yours. Rather than making it sound as an entitlement, the approach is what (facilities, schemes) you need to be a better contributing member of this society.

Leave a Reply

